Martin et Karczinski has been working with Parador, the leading floor design company, for five years. Marketing Manager Birgit Kunth talks about the partnership.

Birgit Kunth, Marketing Manager, Parador
WHAT WE GAIN
Agency services
Analysis/Research
Imagery
Brand Identity
Claim Development
C-level Consultancy
Corporate Design
Corporate Publishing
Digital Media/Apps
Educational Branding
Literature
Packaging
Positioning
Strategy Workshops
Corporate Values
Vision Development

Birgit Kunth studied at the Berlin School of Economics and Law before becoming digital marketing consultant at Parador. Today, she manages the marketing and communication for the company, which is part of the Hüls Group.

You are working with great drive on Parador’s brand image. What surprised you about Martin et Karczinski from the outset?

As ever in life, the first moment was decisive. Actually, we had initial contact twice: once in the workshop, then during the ongoing work where I had to make sure: do they have enough strategic knowledge, do they have the expertise for the agency to develop a consistent CI for our company. I was positively surprised by their clarity and the consistency of their focused support as we took the right steps.

 
What would you advise anyone else who is at the beginning of a CI/CD process?

At the start, you should give yourself some free space to let go of old images and cherished ideas. Then, however complex things seem, you have to make them as simple as possible – but no simpler. In our company, Brand Management, Controlling and HR Management come together. You constantly have to trust reason and emotion. Creating a Corporate Identity is also a long-term process. On the one hand, you need to know where you want to get to and at the same time have the great flexibility to constantly review or further shape your objectives and how to achieve them.

 
Is it a big challenge to include all the divisions of a company like Parador in the brand building process?

Yes – even though the feedback on Martin et Karczinski’s work was all positive. To start the process as confidently and successfully as possible, we organised the CI process within the company as part of the overall strategy. It was important to us to win over all our employees as true ›people of conviction‹ in terms of branding - brand ambassadors who believe that you can create a brand with a two-dimensional product, a flat product and one that is on the floor to boot.

 
Where do you see Parador in the future?

There are two dimensions that define our future: on the one hand, there are the products themselves – and on the other, there is the content that is assigned to the products. The fact that we help to make every home the most beautiful home in the world is a concept that is fed from many facettes and is expressed in our magazine, BODEN, and one which I continue to find inspirational. On the other hand, we are increasingly thinking digital. We demonstrate digital strength and presence within our omni-channel strategy – and are thus supporting both our customers and our commercial partners with expertise and services. Finally, sustainability is an important subject which we have addressed under the heading ›Eco Balance‹ and which led to the collaboration with the environmental initiative ›Plant-for-the-Planet‹ which will continue in the future.

 
Has working with Martin et Karczinski changed anything in your own day-to-day life?

What has changed is that today, there is an understanding within the company of the brand as a valuable asset and value creation factor – and that we will continue to work on this with a ›sense of togetherness‹. This togetherness is also seen in the work we do with the agency. The partnership is always very enjoyable because of the quality that results from it. The reciprocal act of leading and being led is also highly successful. In addition, fantastically good design comes out of Munich; the expectations on the agency side are just as high as the expectations on my side.

Seit fünf Jahren begleitet Martin et Karczinski Parador, das führende Unternehmen für die Bodengestaltung. Über die Zusammenarbeit berichtet Marketingleiterin Birgit Kunth.

Birgit Kunth, Marketingleiterin Parador
DAS WIR GEWINNT
Agenturleistungen
Analyse / Recherche
Bildsprache
Brand Identity
Claimentwicklung
C-Level-Beratung
Corporate Design
Corporate Publishing
Digitale Medien / Apps
Educational Branding
Literatur
Packaging
Positionierung
Strategie Workshops
Unternehmenswerte
Visionsfindung

Birgit Kunth studierte an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht in Berlin, bevor sie Referentin für digitales Marketing bei Parador wurde. Heute leitet sie die Bereiche Marketing und Kommunikation des Unternehmens, das zur Hüls Gruppe gehört.

Sie arbeiten mit viel Elan am Markenimage von Parador. Was hat Sie von Anfang an an Martin et Karczinski überrascht?
 
Wie sonst im Leben war der erste Moment entscheidend. Diesen ersten Kontakt haben wir im Prinzip zweimal gehabt: Einmal beim Workshop, dann bei der weitergehenden Arbeit, wo ich sichergehen musste: Ist auch genug strategisches Wissen da, ist das Know-how vorhanden, damit die Agentur eine stimmige CI für unser Unternehmen entwickeln kann. Positiv überraschend waren die Klarheit und die Konsequenz in der zielgerichteten Begleitung der richtigen Schritte.
 
 
Was würden Sie anderen raten, die am Beginn eines CI/CD-Prozesses stehen?
 
Man sollte sich anfangs Freiraum schaffen und sich von alten Bildern und liebgewonnenen Vorstellungen trennen. Dann gilt es, die Dinge bei aller Komplexität so einfach zu machen, wie es geht – aber auch nur so einfach. Bei uns kommt ja Markenmanagmement, Controlling und Mitarbeiterführung zusammen. Da muss man Ratio und Emotio konstant vertrauen. Darüber hinaus ist es ein langfristiger Prozess, eine Corporate Identity zu bilden. Man sollte einerseits wissen, wo man hin will und gleichzeitig eine hohe Flexibilität leben, um seine Ziele und den Weg dorthin immer wieder zu prüfen oder auch weiter zu gestalten.
 
 
Ist es eine große Herausforderung, alle Abteilungen in so einem Unternehmen wie Parador beim Markenbildungsprozess mitzunehmen?
 
Ja – auch, wenn das Feedback auf die Arbeit von Martin et Karczinski durchweg positiv war. Um den Prozess möglichst sicher und erfolgreich zu starten haben wir den CI-Prozess unternehmensintern gesamtstrategisch aufgesetzt. Wichtig war uns, alle Mitarbeiter in Sachen Markenarbeit als wahre ›Überzeugungstäter‹ zu gewinnen. Markenbotschafter, die daran glauben, bei einem zweidimensionalen Produkt, einem Flächenprodukt, das sich noch dazu auf dem Boden befindet, eine Marke zur Entfaltung bringen zu können.
 
 
Wo sehen Sie Parador in der Zukunft?
 
Es gibt zwei Dimensionen, die unsere Zukunft prägen: Zum einen die Produkte selbst – zum anderen die Inhalte, die den Produkten beigeordnet sind. Dass wir dazu beitragen, aus jedem Zuhause das Schönste Zuhause der Welt zu machen, ist ja ein Thema, das sich aus vielen Facetten nährt und in unserem Magazin BODEN zum Ausdruck kommt, das ich nach wie vor extrem inspirierend finde. Zum anderen denken wir mehr und mehr digital. Im Rahmen unserer Omnichannel-Strategie zeigen wir digitale Stärke und Präsenz – und unterstützen dabei sowohl Kunden als auch Handelspartner mit Know-how und Services. Schließlich ist Nachhaltigkeit ein wichtiges Thema, das wir unter der Überschrift ›Eco Balance‹ besetzt haben und das zur Zusammenarbeit mit der Umweltinitiative ›Plant-for-the-Planet‹ geführt hat, die es auch in Zukunft weiter geben wird.
 
 
Hat sich durch Martin et Karczinski etwas in Ihrem persönlichen Alltag verändert?
 
Verändert hat sich, dass heute im Unternehmen ein Verständnis für die Marke als hohes Gut und Wertschöpfungsfaktor besteht – und, dass mit einem ›Wir-Gefühl‹ weiter daran gearbeitet wird. Auch in der Arbeit mit der Agentur kommt dieses Wir zum Tragen. Die Zusammenarbeit macht immer wieder viel Freude durch die Qualität, welche die Dinge bekommen. Auch das wechselseitige Führen und Führenlassen ist sehr gelungen. Darüber hinaus kommt aus München immens gutes Design; die Ansprüche sind auf Agenturseite genauso hoch wie auf meiner.